Blood on the Grass (TW)

The aftermath of a lion kill is so calm and silent that the gore seems almost benign. You’d think death would snuff all the normality out of the world, but horror is not as it’s portrayed in the movies. It sits so comfortably next to everyday life that the only thing out of place is the blood on the grass. It’s hard to spot a kill because horror doesn’t look dramatic. It looks ordinary.

(Continued below)

7149159665_0c876fe9d2_b

Before I was raped, I thought trauma was gory and dramatic enough to steal the stars out of the sky. That it didn’t was the horrific part because the sunset would always remind me that I wasn’t safe in the world. Now all the usual scents and sights that were there during my assault were covered in gore. Wherever I went, there was blood on the grass.

The trouble with rape is that you can’t escape the trauma for a second. The only way out of hell is through recovery, and the lack of respite in all those years is exhausting. There are no rest stops for rape survivors. You must believe beyond hope that there’s a happy ending out there somewhere. You must believe it even as the years pass and pass and pass.

Lions are elegant creatures. They look like a hybrid of a kitten and a king even as they’re lying in their own carnage, and rapists look just as harmless. Before rape, the world seemed safe because I thought I could spot a monster long before it attacked me. After rape, I knew that monsters did not look like monsters. They looked like the man sitting next to you on a train and the woman serving you sushi at the corner restaurant. Rapists have moments of kindness and generosity just like you and I. That means anyone might be a monster.

After a kill, the earth immediately begins to absorb the death it’s just seen. Vultures clean the carcass, and the last of the cadaver brings new life to the soil. In time, rain clears the savannah of blood. There is recovery, even after so much carnage.

We regenerate. We thrive.

When I was in the middle of my trauma, I knew I would never recover, but I was wrong. Rape changed me, but it didn’t freeze me in my trauma for the rest of my days. I became capable of more happiness. Like building a well, rape takes and takes and takes. The deeper it digs, the more you lose, but then the walls are built, the rain comes, and all that loss becomes sustenance.

People regenerate. It’s just what we do.

3 thoughts on “Blood on the Grass (TW)

  1. Reblogged this on the dream running ahead of me and commented:
    “People regenerate. It’s just what we do.”

    Many of you know I’m in the middle of trauma recovery treatment trying to recover from recent trauma and childhood trauma at the same time. It’s hard, painful work. Still… this post I’ve reblogged is filled with words and images of hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

